CDM-S11

A Dynamic Field: How to Navigate the Ever-changing World of Journalism

The Basics

leave a comment »

First off, introduction. My name is Emily and I’m a student at Rider University. This blog is a project for the honors program in which I participate. I’m currently taking a class called Converging Digital Media, which is all about the huge changes the field of journalism is facing today.

I’m currently a junior journalism major and it’s always been my dream to work for a major news publication. Of course, the type of journalism that I’m incredibly interested in: actually going out and reporting on a story and then sitting down to type it out, is slowly falling by the wayside. Increasingly blogs (like this one), social media and other Internet forces are pushing newspapers, magazines, broadcast networks and radio stations to innovate like never before to adapt to the changing media.

Image representing Twitter as depicted in Crun...

Image via CrunchBase

I mean no one offense when I say that I would not exactly be thrilled if my first job out of college was simply updating a Facebook page or a Twitter account. I don’t want to be a pundit who refers to herself as a “journalist.” I don’t really want to be a blogger who doesn’t actually report but takes information from various established news sources and presents it as her own information. My options, however, are becoming increasingly limited. With this blog I hope to explore the changes in my field and figure out where I’m probably going to end up in about a year when I graduate from college.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Written by landgiraffe

February 25, 2011 at 7:49 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment